Posted by: theurban6 | April 18, 2011

The Fiskars hatchet review

A few months ago I bought a fiskars hatchet. They have since come out with a new and improved style called the x7, this review is of the older one.

I looked at many hatchets around town at the local stores, and box stores, never really finding what I really wanted. What I was looking for a hatchet that was relatively light, inexpensive, but of a decent quality. I ended up deciding on a fiskars, and here is why.

The blade has a good profile, without needing a bunch of modification. It has a very light handle, that is hollow. It is tremendously sharp out of the box. Also it is perfectly sized.

First lets address the carrier, or hostler if you will. It is made of plastic, and is made to be mounted to a solid surface. This is good if you will be storing it in a shop or something along those lines, as it can be mounted out of children’s reach. Once it is mounted and the hatchet is inserted, there should be no worry of it just falling out. If you are like me, and plan on carrying it around in the bush, the holster will not work well for you. So you will need to make a belt holster or something along those lines to really be able to pack it anywhere. Also it is very sharp so for safety reasons you will want to consider this also. I mounted the factor holster inside of my teardrop camper, so that it will always be easy to find, but I have a homemade belt sheath for it as well.

The sheath gets a 5 out of 10 for me. It is sort of useful.

The handle is the next part of the axe to be reviewed. As I stated previously it is a very light weight hollow handle. It seems to be made out of some type of plastic composite material. Mine is black, with and orange coating where you hold it. The hollow handle is handy because you can fold up a small survival kit in canvas and force it into the handle. I tied a string to mine so that if it goes to far to reach I can just pull on the string to get it out. When your hands get sweaty your grip gets slippery (something they addressed in the X7) which can be dangerous. So I wrapped my handle in bicycle inner tube. It really helps the grip, and I did it in such a way that part of the innertube slides under the bottom to hold the survival kit in place.

Handle gets 8 out of 10, slipperiness is deadliness.

The blade is a pretty strong metal, that is really sharp. With a light swing at a pallet, the blade sunk in almost 2 inches. Which is really good. The profile is perfect, it stays thin which prevents the blade from bogging into the wood to soon, and stopping the foward momentum. The back side is a low profile hammer head, which most hatchets have, but I like the profile of this one better.

The blade 10 out of 10.

Longevity for the money – 8 out of 10.
I am not sure how long the plastic (there is a lot of it) will hold up over time. Plastic has a tendency to dry out over time. Though the price was right at $14, if it lasts through 2 years of my type of use, I will consider it a terrific axe for the money, being as the only modifications were free in materials, and quick to do.

Keep in mind that there are other cheap hatchets that would be around longer, but I would need to spend many hours re profiling the head, and my time is worth money. So in essence if I spend 6 hours on a $13 hatchet, it is really worth over a $100. For that money I could by a really nice heirloom quality hatchet. That’s why the fiskars rates so highly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

